Dear Jim Nantz,

The fact that Jeremy Lamb’s dad as part of VCU, once beat a Calhoun coached team in the NCAA tournament is not in any way a “paradox.” I believe the word you are looking for is “coincidence.”

Also a coincidence: the fact that UConn and Butler played the first two rounds of this tournament at the same regional site and stayed in the same hotel.  You used “oddity” which is closer, but still makes me wonder if you have some sort of mental block against the word that literally means “the occurrence of events that happen at the same time by accident but seem to have some connection.”

That said, I am amused by how you and your announcing partners gave up pretending both these offenses didn’t suck tonight before the first half was even over.

Love (kinda),

Whitney

P.S. Would you please consider letting Gus Johnson have your Final Four slot next year?  Just think — you could go down to Augusta early, and not be hoarse and half-deaf during the practice rounds.

P.P.S. Dog puns? Really?  You were going to use the same lines for the Butler Bulldogs, weren’t you?

2 thoughts on “Dear Jim Nantz,

  1. Mike Fricano says:

    Thank you for this post. I had to Tweet it last night, I was so aghast at this butchering of language. And I thought misused “ironic” was bad. I was surprised it didn’t get more writers didn’t take Nantz to task, though I suppose most people had already tuned out.

    • Thanks for the tweet! I think I noticed because I had the game on while I was working on my computer, so I was actually listening more than watching.

Comments are closed.

